shockleader

hi guys how many of you use a shockleader  i have never used them before i go between mono and braid  i think that its just another weak link our am i wrong in thinking that  i use about a 7 once lead and bait so it be close to 8 / 9 onces  thats a lot of strain on about 20 / to 25 pound line any thoughts please

2 hours ago, daio web said:

hi guys how many of you use a shockleader  i have never used them before i go between mono and braid  i think that its just another weak link our am i wrong in thinking that  i use about a 7 once lead and bait so it be close to 8 / 9 onces  thats a lot of strain on about 20 / to 25 pound line any thoughts please

Depends where you did really. And for what. Over rough/rocky ground I'll always use a rubbing leader. But if I'm just fishing for say bream then no. Don't for get the skin of a hound is like sand paper, if he gets rapped in line he could easily run through a thin mono or braid. 

8 minutes ago, daio web said:

ok thanks neil i think i will fit one this  coming season  and give it a go   what lb line is best to use 50 / 60  because i am worried about the knot passing though the eyes

Again, it depends on what you're fishing for. Generally I'll use 40lb mono. If you use a streamlined knot like the FG it'll pass through your tip rings no problem. 

its for this winters cod fishing i was going to change back over to braid again as i like the thin diameter line but what would the fg knot be like from braid to shockleader  do you mean 40 pound shockleader our 40 pound mainline thats a bit heavey up yer for that 

19 minutes ago, daio web said:

its for this winters cod fishing i was going to change back over to braid again as i like the thin diameter line but what would the fg knot be like from braid to shockleader  do you mean 40 pound shockleader our 40 pound mainline thats a bit heavey up yer for that 

FG knot braid to 40lb rubbing leader. 

56 minutes ago, daio web said: