Hardy Har Har

A what boat thread (hopefully)

Current ship: Strikeliner 16

Would like to have: 

6.1m max LOA because of daylight robbery mooring, option to sleep overnight, khazi, warmer winter (diesel heater) pilot house, speed 16-20+ knots, economyishical, £10~15k in doubloons 

Smooth brain thoughts: Hardy Fisher 20’, Orkney Orkadian 20’, Hardy Pilot 20’

East Coast fishing (Essex), so annoying short green sea chop

Anyone here been on a Orkadian 20’? Same hull as Day Angler 19’ with living room up front and small deck area behind. Told they don’t plane much (semi D) and bow rise restricts forward vision 

Trim tabs, prop woes, weight and power all get mentioned getting Orkadien and Fishers lump over the hump 

It’s a lot to ask from 20’

Strikeliner getting canopy tent fitted next month so no rush but I’m bigger boat curious, the romance of an overnight in a river and up early off to the mark

🏴‍☠️ 

1 minute ago, JonC said:

I’ve no knowledge of the vessels you mentioned but good luck with it. Where abouts are you planning on keeping her? 

Existing boat is in Tit’marsh so would stay there. They do cheaper swinging moorings but still up to 6.1m sort of got to used to the pontoon walk on lifestyle 💅🏼 

1 hour ago, Captain Sensible said:

Existing boat is in Tit’marsh so would stay there. They do cheaper swinging moorings but still up to 6.1m sort of got to used to the pontoon walk on lifestyle 💅🏼 

Yeah, swinging maureens sound like a pain to me. 

What areas do you tend to fish? Do you drop south around the Walton/Clacton area or head north? 
I planned on going up to Roughs this year but never got around to it- do you know if it’s still worth going there? 

8 minutes ago, Saintly Fish said:

The merry fisher will have the nanni 85 in it, a bit under powered- 12 knots cruise 

2 hours ago, JonC said:

Yeah, swinging maureens sound like a pain to me. 

What areas do you tend to fish? Do you drop south around the Walton/Clacton area or head north?