Little help pls to choose a bunch of boat rods/reels

Petroni

With no significant background in boat fishing we just started chartering out of Poole for an extended family get together (me, my 3 sons, and 2 grandsons aged 7 & 10). First outing this weekend went extremely well and they all loved it and want to make it a monthly thing. So Granddad gets the job of sorting it. Got 2 full day hires booked for August so I have some time to think/kit up now. I am considering maybe 6-8 rods (all Ugly Stiks?) with 2 x spinners, 4-6 x 12-20lb but open to advice. I am struggling badly with reels and braid combo/brands as I have zero knowledge on this. I am looking for a steer. I would rather the lads learn to play fish rather than just crank them up on heavy duty rods so I am proposing lighter rods with medium weight braid maybe. Anyone have thoughts of how to tackle this (no pun intended)? I want to minimise my mistakes and avoid wasting money if I can. Thanks in anticipation all.   Peter

Hi Peter,

The Ugly Stik boat rods get a lot of good feedback. I have a couple myself and for the price you'd be hard to beat them.

https://www.veals.co.uk/acatalog/shakespeare-ugly-stick-gx2-12-20-3735.html

Penn reels are good, either the Warfare or Fathom, but Shimano TLD's or Charter Specials are also well thought of. Every reel these days can handle braid.

As for braid itself, you'll need to match the breaking strain of the braid with the line class on the rods, so a 12-20lb rod is designed to work best with a braid of between 12 and 20lb B.S. I use 20lb braid on my 12-20 rods.

It will also depend on where you're fishing, what strength of tides etc. Generally you'll want to use heavier leads to hold bottom in stronger tides, and for this you'll need heavier rods that can handle the heavier leads. No point using a pound of lead on a 6-12lb rod, for example.

So, match your braid to your rods and your rods to the weight you'll need to hold bottom.